DTC Paint the Town Blue Fall Gala

Please join the Westport DTC as we honor
Ann Sheffer & Bill Scheffler and Gordon Joseloff

for a lifetime of service and commitment to
the Town of Westport and Democratic causes.


Ann Sheffer and Bill Scheffler


Gordon Joseloff

Come help us celebrate the fall election campaign as we
Enjoy delicious food, wine, hot music and good company
Friday, October 16, 2015
7 to 10 PM
Westport Arts Center
51 Riverside Avenue, Westport

$75 in advance, $100 at the door

Click HERE to RSVP and Pay Online
for Tickets or Host Committee

Become an Event Sponsor! $1,000

Join the Host Committee! $250/individual, $400/couple

Municipal Candidates for November 3rd Election

• Board of Finance
Sheri Gordon (Click HERE for Donation Form by mail)
John Hartwell (Click HERE for Donation Form by mail)
• Board of Education
Mark Mathias
Michael Gordon
• Planning & Zoning
Paul Lebowitz (Click HERE for Donation Form by mail)
• Zoning Board of Appeals
Jim Ezzes

Click HERE for Voter Information on the Upcoming Election

Click HERE to Get Involved and help our Candidates

2nd Annual DTC Summer Social

Thank you for joining us at our 2015 June Summer Social.

Special Thanks to

Candi Savin & Ellen Lautenberg
Finance Committee Co-Chairs

Photos from our 2014 Event:


DTC Awards Lunch


Sunday March 15th was a lovely day with nearly 100 people gathered at Rive Bistro to honor Ted Diamond and David Noonan for our first annual “Yellow Dog Democrat” and “Campaign Leadership” awards brunch. Many thanks to everyone who helped organize and staff this event. Thanks also to Alan Shinbaum and Larry Untermeyer for the photos.

Ted Diamond
The Martha Aasen “Yellow Dog Democrat” Award

Presented in recognition of service
“above and beyond”
to the principles of the Democratic Party
and its success.

David Noonan
The Dora Stuttman Campaign Leadership Award

Presented to a volunteer
from the most recent campaign
whose energy, enthusiasm, and commitment
was an inspiration to others.

DTC Openings

Due to recent resignations, we now have three openings in District 6 (click here to see RTM district map). If you know someone you think would be interested, please get in touch with anyone on the Executive Committee. Prior political experience is a plus but not necessary. More important is a desire to help the town and a willingness to pitch in when needed. Please contact John Hartwell at jhartwell@westportdemocrats.org.

Westport Election Results 2014

Thank you very much to all our fantastic volunteers!

Unofficial Tally All districts counted.
November 4, 2014, UPDATED November 5, 2014 9:03 AM
* indicates office winner, if declared.
61.6% voter turnout
 Thomas C. Foley and Heather Somers (GOP) 4,534 45.4%
 Dannel P. Malloy and Nancy Wyman (Dem) * 5,416 54.3%
 Joe Visconti and Chester Frank Harris 24 0.2%
 Jonathan Pelto and Ebony S. Murphy 2 0.0%
 John Renjilian and Jason Renjilian 0 0.0%
 John Traceski and Elizabeth Traceski 0 0.0%
 Daniel R. Gaita and Jason D. Smith 0 0.0%
 Total 9,976 100.0%
 Dan Debicella  (GOP) 4,113 41.5%
 Jim Himes (Dem) * 5,788 58.5%
 Sophie E. Pastore 0 0.0%
 Stephen A. Miller 0 0.0%
 Total 9,901 100.0%
 Toni Boucher (GOP) * 4,680 56.1%
 Philip Sharlack (Dem) 3,666 43.9%
 Thomas Burke 0 0.0%
 Total 8,346 100.0%
 Tony Hwang  (GOP) * 593 45.1%
 Kim Fawcett (Dem) 721 54.9%
 Total 1,314 100.0%
 Brandi Briggs  (GOP) 4,102 45.0%
 Jonathan P. Steinberg (Dem) * 5,009 55.0%
9,111 100.0%
 Gail Lavielle (GOP) * 434 60.6%
 Keith Rodgerson (Dem) 282 39.4%
 Total 716 100.0%
 Peter Lumaj (GOP) 4,352 45.6%
 Denise W. Merrill (Dem) * 5,042 52.9%
 S. Michael DeRosa 143 1.5%
 Total 9,537 100.0%
 Timothy M. Herbst (GOP) 4,633 48.6%
 Denise L. Nappier (Dem) 4,908 51.4%
 Rolf Maurer 1 0.0%
 Total 9,542 100.0%
 Sharon J. McLaughlin (GOP) 4,572 48.4%
 Kevin Lembo (Dem) * 4,778 50.5%
 Rolf W. Maurer 105 1.1%
 Total 9,455 100.0%
 Kie Westby (GOP) 4,214 44.1%
 George Jepsen (Dem) * 5,213 54.6%
 Stephen E. Fournier 123 1.3%
 Total 9,550 100.0%
 Lisa K. Wexler (GOP) * 6,350 100.0%
 Total 6,350 100.0%
 Kevin M. White (GOP) * 4,378 47.5%
 Marla J. Cowden (Dem) * 4,844 52.5%
 Total 9,222 100.0%
 Yes 5,565 61.5%
 No 3,480 38.5%
 Total 9,045 100.0%

Himes and Murphy Lead Election Eve Rally


David Keisman appointed to BAA

david K BAA swearing in Aug 4 14

On August 4, 2014, Westport Town Clerk Patricia Strauss swore in David J. Keisman to fill a Democratic vacancy on the Board of Assessment Appeals (BAA). David replaced Jeff Jacobs, who moved out of Westport and will serve out the term expiring through November 2017. He joins democrat Elaine Arnow on the BAA. David is a senior vice president in the corporate finance group at Moody’s.

Summer Social 2014

Thanks to everyone who made it to our summer social at The Saugatuck Rowing Club in June!

Ready for Hillary

Melissa Kane and John Hartwell welcome Patti Russo of the Women’s Campaign School at the Ready for Hillary Event in Westport June 6th.

Melissa Patti John at Sheffer's

2014 Democratic State Convention

Congratulations to all the Candidates nominated at the recent 2014 Democratic State Convention in Hartford.

Governor Dan Malloy
Lt. Governor Nancy Wyman
Secretary of the State Denise Merrill
State Treasurer Denise Nappier
State Comptroller Kevin Lembo
Attorney General George Jepsen

There is still so much to be done before Election Day November 4th!

Democratic Town Committee (DTC) for 2014-2016

Members of the 2014-2016 Westport Democratic Town Committee have been officially selected. Officers and District Leaders were selected at the March 13, 2014 Organizational Meeting.
Click HERE for list of 2014-2016 DTC Members

For further information please contact John Hartwell, Chairman of the Westport Democratic Town Committee at 203-216-1425 or email at jhartwell@westportdemocrats.org